The Rise and Rise of Steve Jobs

It was during the training phase of my maiden job that I got acquainted with the name ‘Steve Jobs’. It was an unusually long day made unbearable by the somniferous oratory of the highly distinguished speakers. That was the day I tried improvising on a proverb and came up with the now infamous: “Ignorance is Bliss, Slumber is Divine”. I suffer from the habit of conjuring up some obnoxious one liners like: “Dedication and determination lead to destruction”, or “One’s examination marks are inversely proportional to one’s intelligence”. I would spare my ardent readers the horror of sharing more of such blasphemous novelties.
Let me come straight to the point and tell you how I first heard of Jobs. While I was busy taking my umpteenth nap for the day—sitting at one of the safer places at the back of the auditorium—I heard a distant clatter, which gradually brought me back to senses. To my wildest amusement, I noticed that one of the speakers had finally succeeded in getting the attention of the audience through his storytelling prowess. Even amidst all the shouting and clattering, I was having a very tough time regaining my consciousness. Suddenly, I heard the speaker talking about Apple’s MacBook. He asked the audience the reason behind the unprecedented success of the MacBook. One of my bibliophilic friends blurted: “Personality of Steve Jobs”. His comment made him a laughing-stock of the less knowledgeable audience members, but I knew him better than to doubt his wisdom and more importantly, his aversion to levity. That day when I went back to the Studio apartments, I had a sense of purpose which had been missing for long. For the rest of the night, I kept on searching for anything related to Steve Jobs on the internet and incredibly managed to imbibe most of it. I was fascinated to know about his life, struggle and achievements. I felt as if I were watching a run-of-the-mill Hollywood tale of an underdog: rags to riches and then back to rags and eventually to riches. There was a man whose life was a living example of hope, self-belief and motivation, a maverick who had the courage to follow his heart against all odds, a larger than life figure whose aspirations made him the inspiration of millions. I had learnt about the ‘Phoenix’—a mythical bird which rises from its ashes after every 500 years—in one of the English Literature lectures at School. I was finally seeing a personification of that mythical bird in Steve Jobs.
Today that Jobs is no longer with us, I best remember him as a great inventor, visionary, and philosopher of the 21st century. There have never been any doubts regarding Jobs’ credibility as a great visionary or an inventor par excellence. All doubts concerning his credibility as a philosopher were put to rest by his iconic 15-minute address at Stanford’s 114th Commencement in 2005. During his emotional speech, Jobs shared his life experiences to expound the three principles he believed pivotal to life: to follow one’s heart come what may, to always learn from one’s failures, and to live like there is no tomorrow.
I would like take this opportunity to pay a tribute to Steve jobs by sharing what he wished for the youth of today: Stay Hungry. Stay Foolish. As far as I am concerned, I will always remember Steve Jobs as the young entrepreneur who had the courage to ask John Sculley, the former CEO of Pepsi-Cola, “Do you want to sell sugar water for the rest of your life, or do you want to come with me and change the world?”
PS. RIP Steve Paul Jobs!

About A Potpourri of Vestiges

Murtaza Ali is an independent film critic, sports writer, and content developer based out of Delhi. He is the author of the movie blog ‘A Potpourri of Vestiges’. He has been writing movie reviews at IMDb.COM for over four years. He is also associated with F1India.ORG as a content editor. Cinema is not only his passion, but also his greatest obsession. His all-time favorite movie-makers are Akira Kurosawa, Stanley Kubrick, Luis Bunuel, Andrei Tarkovsky, Charles Chaplin, Orson Welles, Federico Fellini, Ingmar Bergman, Satyajit Ray, Fritz Lang, Sergio Leonne, Francis Ford Cuppola, and Martin Scorsese.
Aside | This entry was posted in Quotidian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

