The Inception


It seems eons have past since I had first conceived the thought of starting my own blog. It’s hardly been a year that I had finally zeroed in on the name: A Potpourri of Vestiges (Here, I won’t reveal the reason for choosing such a peculiar name and will save it for sometime later). But, since then I have become a hapless victim of incertitude: every time I try to muster some courage, my inhibitions get the better of me. Something that can’t be cured must be endured! But, I have finally decided to break the shackles, for the torment of vacillation has become unbearable.

At this stage, I am not aiming for success, nor can I guarantee it, for we mustn’t worry about things that aren’t ours to decide. Sounds cliched, doesn’t it? Well, I don’t expect my readers to give up on me so soon. You must not forget that my hands are still shaking and my heart is ticking faster than a clockwork. I have always been slower than the ruck: perhaps in thinking, probably in planning, and definitely in execution. I can go on giving excuses for my failures, but since I do not want to annoy my soon to become ardent followers, I ought to be a bit more cautious of my blabbering. While I cannot afford to be caught off-guard, I must not let my ambition get the better of me, for discretion is the better part of valor. I must calm my nerves down and must not succumb to the odds. Before I start digressing further, I must gather back my senses and come straight to the point. My life has been the quintessence of a paradox: the harder I tried the greater I fell, and with each fall the morale sunk and desperation augmented.

I started out as an outright winner with a cut-throat attitude. I remember being called: “The Boy with a Midas touch.” I never used to give an inch to my peers and used to ruthlessly cut my rivals short, faster than the flick of a wrist. Alas, every good thing has to end: whether a reign of terror or a spree of frenzied luck. I became a mere shadow of what I used to be in the good old days. I could no longer effect results, and success became so far-fetched that it often seemed like a chimera. As I started to feel like a mere mortal, I inexplicably developed an uncanny liking for feeble traits like clemency, compassion, gratitude, compunction, sycophancy and acquiescence; I started to condone the things that I once used to staunchly condemn. I became my own antithesis owing to the malevolent villainy of time and fate. As I bore the brunt of my haplessness, I failed to fathom its end. Perhaps, I needed sometime to rethink, reanalyze my situation but time was a luxury which I could no longer afford. Hence, until the day of reckoning when I would finally succumb, I decided to keep the ball rolling.

While I was getting accustomed to my mediocre existence, I got bamboozled by a volley of questions; answers to most of those questions seemed far beyond the scope of my dilapidated cognition. My dear readers, I must confess that no punishment can be more severe than being made to live in mediocrity. As far as the questions themselves were concerned, I kept them for some opportune moment, probably when I would be in a better position to tackle them. In the interim, I decided to work assiduously in order to devise a means to detach myself from reality, probably by learning to live vicariously. As a last resort to placate my behemoth ego and pacify my lacerated heart, I decided to indulge myself into the bling-bling of cinema.

to be continued….

About A Potpourri of Vestiges

Murtaza Ali is an independent film critic, sports writer, and content developer based out of Delhi. He is the author of the movie blog ‘A Potpourri of Vestiges’. He has been writing movie reviews at IMDb.COM for over four years. He is also associated with F1India.ORG as a content editor. Cinema is not only his passion, but also his greatest obsession. His all-time favorite movie-makers are Akira Kurosawa, Stanley Kubrick, Luis Bunuel, Andrei Tarkovsky, Charles Chaplin, Orson Welles, Federico Fellini, Ingmar Bergman, Satyajit Ray, Fritz Lang, Sergio Leonne, Francis Ford Cuppola, and Martin Scorsese.
This entry was posted in Quotidian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

