My First day at Delhi School of Management

My First day at Delhi School of Management was a mix of apprehensions and expectations: apprehensions existed because I had just taken the risk of quitting a secured job with a highly reputed organization; there were expectations because I was about to join a prestigious institution. This was preceded by a sustained phase of anticipation and dilemma. On the eve of the first day, after struggling with another bout of anxiety, I finally pushed off to bed being fully aware that I would have to wake up at six in the morning—something that I hadn’t done probably since kindergarten. It took me almost two hours to reach my destination and my wait was finally over. I had come to the same place years back in want of a berth in its engineering courses but had to return empty handed. This time the scenario was different as the berth had already been secured.

The very moment my eyes fell on the University Entrance, I inexplicably entered a reverie in which I saw the Vice Chancellor presenting me with the Nobel Prize in Economics. The honking of an impatient entrant broke my reverie. As I took those long strides towards Delhi School of Management, I thought of the unlimited opportunities that one’s affiliation with the prestigious name of Delhi Technology University could provide. I was delighted to see the humongous campus in full flow:  chirping of the birds, the rustling of the wind, the aroma of the wet soil, and the moistness of the wind beckoned me as I went deeper and deeper into the heart of the campus. I was once again on the verge of succumbing to my ecstasy, but I suddenly realized that I had already reached the Delhi School of Management block. I was in no mood to waste any time. The writing on the wall was crystal clear, probably for the first time in my life. The fate had presented me with an opportunity of a lifetime: a chance to graduate from a government B-School that too under the banner of Delhi Technological University. I had always imagined myself as the grand archer Arjuna pitted against the world of injustice in a war of virtue versus vice. All I had ever wanted was a charioteer to steer me through the vast ocean of competition. I could see that the wait was finally over. I had found my charioteer in the resolute structure of building that comprised Delhi School of Management. At that very moment every thing became so obvious: nothing else mattered but the bond that had formed inexplicably between that structure and my soul.

I climbed the stairs that took me to the office where I was required to complete my registration. Voila! There I was facing assemblage of students whose faces glittered with hope and betrayed a sense of inexorable resolve. After completing the formalities we were asked to move to the auditorium to attend the Vice Chancellor’s welcoming speech. On my way to the auditorium, I got a chance to interact with some of the class mates and it didn’t take me long to realize that all of us were together in the urge to shape our respective careers and make worthy contributions to the society. The ambience in the auditorium was electrifying. The vice chancellor and the other dignitaries stepped on the podium and embraced the newest members of the prestigious university. He then delivered a highly motivational speech that had the charm to motivate the most pessimistic of the souls. The radiance of speech testified the eloquence and cogency of the speaker. After it was over, everyone was speechless in utter awe of what they had experienced. His vision gave us all a sense of eternal assurance and security.

After the address, we marched back towards our faculty block. On the way back, I experienced déjà vu as four years of student life in an engineering college like this one flashed through my eyes like a highlight-reel. When I saw a good old lathe machine standing erect in a workshop lab, tears inadvertently poured out of my eyes as I experienced a sense of longing that had escaped me a couple of years back. Once we reached the class we were warmly greeted by our faculty members. Our programme mentor thought of an innovative way of getting the class introduced to each other. We were asked to form groups of four and name our respective groups based on an impetus that was common to all the team members. We were given fifteen minutes to talk among our groups in order to get acquainted to each other. On the turn of the group member were required to introduce each other focusing on their career goals, hobbies and achievements. I was amused to find myself among super achievers from various fields: swimming, dancing, horse riding, singing etc. It was difficult to keep the track of time; the clock soon ticked 6 and the class was dismissed. The big day at college had finally ended but it did leave me with an ineffable sense of fulfillment.

I reached home at 9’O Clock and had my dinner. At 10’O Clock, I pushed off to bed anticipating yet another encounter with anxiety. I closed my eyes and strangely enough, for the first time in a very long time, I succumbed effortlessly to sleep.

About A Potpourri of Vestiges

Murtaza Ali is an independent film critic, sports writer, and content developer based out of Delhi. He is the author of the movie blog ‘A Potpourri of Vestiges’. He has been writing movie reviews at IMDb.COM for over four years. He is also associated with F1India.ORG as a content editor. Cinema is not only his passion, but also his greatest obsession. His all-time favorite movie-makers are Akira Kurosawa, Stanley Kubrick, Luis Bunuel, Andrei Tarkovsky, Charles Chaplin, Orson Welles, Federico Fellini, Ingmar Bergman, Satyajit Ray, Fritz Lang, Sergio Leonne, Francis Ford Cuppola, and Martin Scorsese.
This entry was posted in Quotidian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

