Cries and Whispers…

It seems eons ago when I oozed with hope

When I never found myself tied to a rope

Long before the mundanities of life began to apply the choke

Alas, everything that I do now makes me soak!

 

There was a time when my life was mine

When I lived it to the fullest like some dream divine

Never really bothered to earn a nickel or dime

Everything seemed so sublime when my life was mine

 

Once ‘I’ was the beginning and also the end

When my nights and days followed no trend

Freedom and Frivolity were like my own brand

And the whole world seemed like my motherland

 

Everyday was once like a Sunday

Never knew a day that wasn’t a fun day

When nothing could ever come in my way

It felt like a rhythm divine when my days didn’t feel like a boring Monday

 

Now that it’s all gone I feel so alone

It seems that hundreds of years have suddenly flown

All that is left of me reminds that there wouldn’t be another dawn

Alas, I feel like a hapless bull that has lost its horn!

 

Days are so tiring and nights are so haunting

The everlasting pain that I feel is excruciating

There was a time when I knew I had a beginning

Everything now seems so threatening

 

Now, in want of a thinking lease, I wander

Coast to coast, hither and thither

Thinking alone, thinking unaligned

To fulfill the thousand dreams unrealized

  

Nowhere to go, nothing to find

Now that everything that was promised has been denied

Never to discover the one thing divine

I gainsay the verdict that once had me declared sublime

 

The want of love that often catches me blind

Life is the eternal journey on which I lag behind

My eternal fear feeds me with the shivers

And it is my hapless solitude that explains the jitters

 

My tottering faith lacks a certain depth

The fallen beliefs and tainted memories have left me bereft 

The trouble lies latent in my feigned laughter

I now walk the path of pain and disaster

 

There was once a time when I oozed with fervor

When I never thought there would be an everlasting disaster

Long before the mundanities of life began to apply the choke

Alas, everything that I do now makes me soak!

About A Potpourri of Vestiges

Murtaza Ali is an independent film critic, sports writer, and content developer based out of Delhi. He is the author of the movie blog ‘A Potpourri of Vestiges’. He has been writing movie reviews at IMDb.COM for over four years. He is also associated with F1India.ORG as a content editor. Cinema is not only his passion, but also his greatest obsession. His all-time favorite movie-makers are Akira Kurosawa, Stanley Kubrick, Luis Bunuel, Andrei Tarkovsky, Charles Chaplin, Orson Welles, Federico Fellini, Ingmar Bergman, Satyajit Ray, Fritz Lang, Sergio Leonne, Francis Ford Cuppola, and Martin Scorsese.
This entry was posted in Quotidian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Cries and Whispers…

  1. My eternal fear feeds me with the shivers

    And it is my hapless solitude that explains the jitters

    –Brilliant lines. Lovely poem. 🙂

  2. jayksingh99 says:

    “Thinking alone, thinking unaligned,
    to fulfill the thousand dreams unrealized”
    Apt lines in my case because it relates to the phase I am presently going through.
    Very beautiful poem Murtuza. Keep posting 🙂

    Jay
    http://road-to-sanitarium.blogspot.in/

  3. realityenchanted says:

    Reblogged this on Enchanted pen and commented:
    Blame my cynicism on staring blind at the vanities on parade on this worldly stage, but I love this poem from a fellow blogger!

  4. realityenchanted says:

    And where smiles once mingled with dimples
    Now fear tingles with wrinkles.

    This is a masterpiece!
    I gotta reblog this!

  5. inducares says:

    This poem is full of pain & regret-straight from the heart.

  6. ishenoy says:

    Nice stuff… Keep Blogging!

  7. Good one..the rhyme scheme seemed to start in a great way in the beginning of the peom, but staggared later. Overall..good poem.

  8. Enjoyed reading it!! Of late I too have come to notice similar feelings popping up in my heart.

  9. You are very good with poetry, you gave the topic a fresh take 🙂

  10. This poem is very honest; I’ve been feeling this way for awhile. Glad to see my thoughts written down so beautifully. 🙂

  11. awesome poetry …liked the way u represented
    My tottering faith lacks a certain depth

    The fallen beliefs and tainted memories have left me bereft

    The trouble lies latent in my feigned laughter

    I now walk the path of pain and disaster

    Jasmeet
    emotestar@blosgspot.com

Leave a Reply

