#HPconnectedMusic Indiblogger Meet: The musical communion that cured me like a panacea

Image

I left my place in great anticipation of what awaited me. This time around, I was required to travel to Hilton Garden Inn, Gurgaon to attend the #HPconnectedMusic Indiblogger Meet. My expectations were sky high after the unbelievable experience I had at the last week’s Microsoft #MeetOffice365 IndiBlogger Meet at Blue Frog, Delhi. It took me almost an hour to reach my destination and my wait was finally over. At the venue, as usual, I was greeted by the industrious Indiblogger Team. I could experience the same kind of warmth and bonhomie that had underlined the last week’s event. I was literally charged up by the energy that emanated from the surroundings. After a long testing phase in life things finally seemed to be settling down. The very thought served to be a great respite.

The last eighteen months hadn’t been easy for me.  I had been struggling with occasional bouts of anxiety. It had something to do with the lean patch I had been going through. The phase was like an eternal drought.  All my efforts seemed to go in vain as success became as farfetched as a chimera. It was as if I had lost my Midas touch. The rub of the green was just not going my way. I tried my best to turn the wheel of fortune, but the luck continued to elude me. Though things had started to take a U-turn after the unforgettable Microsoft #MeetOffice365 IndiBlogger Meet—it not only re-instilled me with confidence but also helped me regain the sense of belonging that had gone missing—but a sound sleep was still a luxury that I couldn’t afford. But, I knew I mustn’t stop and carry on with my efforts. During all this time, blogging had been my only respite from the endless torments inflicted on me by the perpetual trickster I call life. Blogging events, to a great extent, are an extension to blogging. So, obviously, I had great expectations from the #HPconnectedMusic Indiblogger Meet. And it didn’t disappoint!

The event started on a high note. The Indiblogger Team, in collaboration with Team HP and Team Hilton Garden Inn, didn’t seem to have left a single stone unturned in their efforts to make the event a colossal success. The theme of the afternoon was “music”. And the ambiance of the place couldn’t have been any truer to its theme. The arena was oozing with the omnipotence of music which had struck resonance with the intellectual faculties of the bloggers constituting the audience. The atmosphere was absolutely electrifying. I had this overwhelming feeling that by the time the event would be over I would have gained something eternal. But, I didn’t want that feeling to rob me of the fun that lied in store for me. So, I let myself loose to the whims and the fancies of the event’s host. Soon a telepathic connect was established between our bodies and the instructions of the host. My hands clapped, my feet stamped the floor, my clenched fists punched in the air of their own accord, as if responding to some divine rhythm.

Music has always been my greatest nemesis.  Even as a toddler I was precociously conscious of the power of music, its divine ability to transcend mortals to a perpetual state of euphoria. In fact, I could sense music reverberating through my senses, enlightening my intellect and soothing my soul.  Needless to say, my penchant for music got visible at that very age. When most children of my age learnt to speak, I could already hum the Gayatri Mantra and the verses of Holy Quran in my most mellifluous voice. And while others learnt to walk, I had already perfected my version of the moonwalk. I could play the tabla and the harmonium with the same ease as I played the guitar and the trumpet. Bemused by my uncanny affinity towards music, some bitter people even passed scandalous remarks questioning my normalcy as a child while others who thought that they knew better attributed my prodigious musical gifts to some supernatural phenomenon.

For some I was the curse of the devil while for others I was blessed by none other than goddess Saraswati. But there’s no denying that all my life I have been connected to music by an invisible umbilical cord. As I grew older, people started addressing me using honorary titles like like Maestro, Virtuoso and Ustaad. I could sing, dance and play, all in one go, and with an effortless ease that reminded some of Mozart, and others of the great Tansen. But, I knew I had a long way to go. So, I practiced harder and harder. And the result was evident. With each passing day, I got better and better. There used to be many sleepless nights, but I knew that one day I would be well rewarded. And finally the opportunity presented itself.  I was invited to hold my own concert at the historic Wembley Stadium. And when I was finally done with it the chants of encore had filled the majestic arena. I then closed my eyes to savor the moment. At that precise moment something fell in my lap. When I opened my eyes I found a cushion in my lap. Apparently, a fellow blogger sitting beside me who had been trying hard to grab my attention had finally managed to break my reverie. The cushion was actually a part of the game that was being played among the bloggers. As soon as I stood up the host announced that I had just won myself a high definition HP Headphone. The embarrassing feeling that was about to creep in was suddenly replaced by a feeling of rapturous fulfillment.  I was suddenly one step closer to regaining my utopia—my long lost state of idyllic bliss.

The rest of the event served as a mere formality to take me closer to my goal.  During the difficult phase I had always imagined myself as the grand archer Arjuna pitted against the world of injustice in a war of virtue versus vice. All I had ever wanted was a charioteer to steer me through the vast ocean of competition. I could see that the wait was finally over. I had finally found my charioteer in my newly discovered self-belief. At that very moment everything became quite obvious as nothing else mattered. I had finally overcome my grave fear of failure. The ghost of pessimism that had been haunting me for so long had finally been exorcised. Now, I could concentrate on more constructive things in life. I got a chance to interact with some of the fellow bloggers and it didn’t take me long to realize that all of us were together in the urge to make worthy contributions to the society. I was amazed to find myself amongst such a great mix of experience and youth: budding writers, retired officers, veteran social workers, technical gurus, veteran teaching mentors, media personalities, etc. The IndiBlogger Meet had brought us all together under one roof and had united us. It was difficult to keep the track of time; the clock soon ticked 6 and we all soon parted ways immediately after the ceremonial photo-shoot. The #HPconnectedMusic Indiblogger Meet had finally ended but it did leave behind a sense of immense fulfillment.

I reached home at 7’O Clock and had my dinner around 9’O Clock. At 10’O Clock, I pushed off to bed anticipating yet another sleepless night. I closed my eyes and strangely enough, for the first time in a very long time, I succumbed effortlessly to sleep.

This article has been written as part of a contest run by IndiBlogger in collaboration with HP to celebrate the launch of HP Connected Music IndiaHP Connected Music IndiBlogger Meet was organized on Saturday April 20, 2013 at Hilton Garden Inn, Gurgaon to mark the occasion. 

About A Potpourri of Vestiges

Murtaza Ali is an independent film critic, sports writer, and content developer based out of Delhi. He is the author of the movie blog ‘A Potpourri of Vestiges’. He has been writing movie reviews at IMDb.COM for over four years. He is also associated with F1India.ORG as a content editor. Cinema is not only his passion, but also his greatest obsession. His all-time favorite movie-makers are Akira Kurosawa, Stanley Kubrick, Luis Bunuel, Andrei Tarkovsky, Charles Chaplin, Orson Welles, Federico Fellini, Ingmar Bergman, Satyajit Ray, Fritz Lang, Sergio Leonne, Francis Ford Cuppola, and Martin Scorsese.
This entry was posted in Quotidian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to #HPconnectedMusic Indiblogger Meet: The musical communion that cured me like a panacea

  1. Fantastic story telling Murtaza!! Loved reading it. Straight from the heart. And it’s great to know your connection with music. Also, good to know that the event turned out to be somewhat cathartic for you. You indeed posses an enviable intellect. I am glad to to have found a friend like you. I extend my heartiest wishes for your further endeavors…Cheers 🙂

  2. Well said and honestly described! Hope we will have the meet in bangalore soon 🙂

  3. asteria says:

    I always get jealous when I read the posts regarding meets, and this was no exception, glad to see bloggers having fun…even if I cant have….:( hope someday indi team decides to host a meet in my city Lucknow as well….regards
    p.s. And I overcame my laziness.

  4. gayatri soni says:

    WoW! Murtaza you are truly a maestro. Albeit, I didn’t hear you but your posts really make me believe you have a rocking power. All the best! And, congrats for HP Mobile. 🙂
    I missed the meet, sigh! 😦

Leave a Reply

