HOHO Delhi Bus Ride: My best Mother’s Day present

HOHO Delhi Bus Service (Delhi Tourism's Hop On Hop Off Sightseeing Service)

 

If there’s anyone who matters to me more than the God Almighty it’s my mother. My mother has been a very special woman for me. Not only because she gave me birth but also because she singlehandedly raised me up and filled the void created by my father’s untimely demise. All these years she has been my only living connection in this world. Ever since my father left us, it’s been a very tough journey for the two of us but we have often found solace in each other’s company. She worked day in and day out to provide for me and never let me feel that I was one of the less privileged ones among my friends and companions.

I often feel that my mother aged faster than usual because of the kind of stress that she had to take. I believe that owing to my busy schedule I am not able to spend enough time with her on a daily basis. And even when I am at home I am not able to devote myself completely to her. So, this Mother’s Day I wanted to surprise her like never before. Instead of giving her a regular materialistic gift which I give her all the time, I took her on a city tour. The city of Delhi, which also happens to be the National Capital of India, is known for its historic places and monuments: be it the Qutab Minarthe scepter of the Slave Dynasty’s artistic fervor—or the Red Fort—the emblem of the Mughal architectural legacy. I remember that when I was a child my mother used to take me on short trips across Delhi to places like the Jama MasjidLodhi GardensLotus TempleDelhi ZooAppu GharRailway Museum, etc. during the summer and winter breaks. Some of my most amazing memories are associated with these trips. The only lust I possessed then was either for a stick of candy or a scoop of ice-cream. I was devoid of the fancies of a grown man. If there is bliss in this world, it is in the fulfillment of those little yearnings of a child. My mother is one of the most generous ladies I have ever known. Not only did she buy those ice creams and goodies for me but she also bought them for my friends who would often accompany me on these trips despite the tight budget she used to be on.  

HOHO Delhi Bus Ride, Delhi Tourism

 

For quite some time now, I had been hoping to give my mother something similar, a sort of an experience that she would never forget. This Mother’s Day, I finally presented her with something really special. And HOHO Bus Service made it possible. HOHO Delhi Bus Service (Delhi Tourism’s Hop On Hop Off Sightseeing Service) is the best way to explore all the avenues of Delhi. Currently there are three available options viz. Red RouteGreen RouteRed + Green Route. While the Red Route allows one to explore around exciting 13 sightseeing points in low floor air-conditioned bus, the Green Route offers as many as 10 sightseeing points in a single day. The ticket fare for both these routes is INR 300 (USD 6 approx.). The third option basically involves a two day journey across 19 sightseeing points. The ticket fare is INR 500 (USD 10 approx.). I opted for the third option as it ensured that I got to spend not one but two quality days with my beloved mother. 

While everything was finalized well in advance, I kept it a secret for the time being. It was supposed to be my big surprise for my mother on the occasion of the Mother’s Day. While she was expecting another boring gift I gave her a very unique present. During the course of the two-day journey, I began to notice a kind of divine calm on my mother’s face. And it was enough to convince me that she actually loved spending time with me. For the both of us, it was like walking down the memory lane. The entire experience was simply priceless!

I am writing a Tribute to Mom in association with Parentous.com

About A Potpourri of Vestiges

Murtaza Ali is an independent film critic, sports writer, and content developer based out of Delhi. He is the author of the movie blog ‘A Potpourri of Vestiges’. He has been writing movie reviews at IMDb.COM for over four years. He is also associated with F1India.ORG as a content editor. Cinema is not only his passion, but also his greatest obsession. His all-time favorite movie-makers are Akira Kurosawa, Stanley Kubrick, Luis Bunuel, Andrei Tarkovsky, Charles Chaplin, Orson Welles, Federico Fellini, Ingmar Bergman, Satyajit Ray, Fritz Lang, Sergio Leonne, Francis Ford Cuppola, and Martin Scorsese.
This entry was posted in Quotidian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HOHO Delhi Bus Ride: My best Mother’s Day present

  1. HOHO Tours says:

    Thank You So Much Murtaza for Gifting HOHO bus Service to your Mom. We are Honoured. We would more than happy to share this post on HOHO Delhi’s Facebook Page here: https://www.facebook.com/hohodelhi

Leave a Reply

