The HP Print Art IndiBlogger Meet: The Auspicious Day I Rediscovered My Luck!

Image

Dear Readers, you must not forget that my hands are still shaking and my heart is ticking faster than clockwork! After all, the rub of the green has for once gone my way. It is kind of strange when you suddenly get lucky after a long lean patch. And not just lucky… but very lucky. Yes, I finally won the big one! IndiBlogger has become my lucky charm. I feel blessed to be a part of this esteemed community of bloggers. While I got enlisted on the network about 18 months back, it wasn’t until very recently that I finally started attending the IndiBlogger meets. At my very first meet, the Microsoft #MeetOffice365 IndiBlogger Meet at Blue Frog, Delhi, I won myself an Arc Mouse. And while I was really happy, I still wasn’t satisfied enough. I went on to attend another meet the very next week: #HPconnectedMusic Indiblogger Meet at Hilton Garden Inn, Gurgaon.  And this time around I won myself a high definition headphone from HP. But, the big one continued to elude me. Two lucky bloggers went on to win HP laptops while I had to content with a consolation price. While I didn’t win anything big the experience that I had at these meets was simply priceless. It just cannot be described in words. And I just can’t thank IndiBlogger enough for it.

HP_Representative

The learned HP representative showering the curious IndiBloggers with all his Wisdom

After the great fun I had at these two meets, I had to prepare myself for a major battle in life: my final year examinations. And as soon as I got over with them, IndiBlogger announced its HP Print Art IndiBlogger Meet in Gurgaon. The timing couldn’t have been perfect! Now, I wasn’t expecting any new meets in the near future and so was really excited by this pleasant surprise… and the timing obviously was immaculate. But, what transpired for me at the meet made it even more special. Vintage IndiBlgger and HP, the meet turned out to be the single most amazing experience of my life. Not only because we all got to sing “Old MacDonal had a farm” with the one and only Nihal Lazarus, not only because we had a great interactive session with one of the representatives from our magnanimous sponsor HP, and not only because about fifteen of us got to organize a sumptuous birthday feast in “The Grand Pirate Style”… but also because I went on to win the grand prize: An HP Ink Advantage All-in-One Printer. Yes, the wheels of fortune have finally being turned thanks to IndiBlogger and HP… and a tweet and an embarrassing incident as school that once haunted my thoughts. My deepest gratitude to the entire IndiBlogger Team and all the fellow bloggers for making me feel so special and privileged, once again in my life.

HP_Winner

Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye!

As far as I can remember, I have always been slower than my peers: perhaps in thinking, probably in planning, and definitely in execution. I can go on giving excuses for my failures, but since I do not want to annoy my readers, I ought to be a bit more cautious of my blabbering. Before I start digressing further, I must gather back my senses and come straight to the point. My life has been the quintessence of a paradox: the harder I tried the greater I fell, and with each fall the morale sank and desperation augmented. I started out as an outright winner with a cut-throat attitude. I was once called: “The Boy with a Midas touch.” I never gave an inch to my peers and used to remorselessly cut my adversaries short, faster than the flick of a wrist. Alas, every good thing has to end! And I got reduced to a mere shadow of what I used to be in my lucky days. I could no longer produce results, and success became so far-fetched that it seemed to me like a chimera.

HP_Pirates

THE PIRATES: Some Swagger ‘n’ No Dagger

As I started to feel like a mere mortal, I inexplicably developed a morbid liking for feeble traits like clemency, compassion, gratitude, compunction, sycophancy and acquiescence; I started to condone the things that I once used to staunchly condemn. In a way, I became my own antithesis… owing to the malevolent villainy of time and fate. As I bore the brunt of my haplessness, I failed to fathom its end. Perhaps, I needed sometime to rethink, reanalyze my situation but time was a luxury which I couldn’t afford. Hence, until the day of reckoning I decided to keep my derelict juggernaut rolling. While I was getting accustomed to my mediocre existence, I got bamboozled by a barrage of questions; answers to most of those questions seemed far beyond the scope of my dilapidated cognizance. I must confess that no punishment can be more severe than being made to live in mediocrity. As far as the questions themselves were concerned, I kept them for some opportune moment, probably when I would be in a better position to tackle them. In the interim, I decided to toil in order to detach myself from reality, probably by learning to live vicariously. As a last resort to placate my behemoth ego and pacify my lacerated heart, I decided to indulge in the bling-bling of blogging. I watched movies and started to blog about them. And it provided a temporary escape as instead of living just one boring life, I began to live several lives—albeit vicariously.

HP_Introduction

And finally I got the opportunity to introduce “A Potpourri of Vestiges”!!!

The initial few years yielded no result but I was content with self-indulgence. It helped me get rid of my abject solitude. At least, I could share my thoughts with others… even let go of my ever growing frustration. Then one good day I made acquaintance with someone special who proved to my guardian angel. This special person motivated me to take my blogging seriously and even advise me to get my blog registered on the IndiBlogger network. Voila… my blog “A Potpourri of Vestiges” was approved in no time! Soon, my network grew and I started getting a lot of positive response. I made acquaintances with some really amazing bloggers… all thanks to IndiBlogger. And finally I started attending the great Indiblogger meets. Now, with each passing meet, I feel myself becoming luckier, and more importantly happier. Winning and losing is a part and parcel of life but more important is participation. But, there is one thing that’s even more important: hope. In life people often encounter so much of negativity and failures that they begin to lose hope. Having experienced it myself, I can tell you that it can sometimes get really difficult to come out of such an abysmal state. There are so many positive things in life but people often fail to look in the right places. Blogging is one of the many things that can help a person overcome his inhibitions and endless failures. And it’s also a great means to connect with the whole of mankind. After all, man is a social animal!

P.S. The above post is a potpourri of facts and fiction and it’s solely up to the reader to speculate what’s what.

About A Potpourri of Vestiges

Murtaza Ali is an independent film critic, sports writer, and content developer based out of Delhi. He is the author of the movie blog ‘A Potpourri of Vestiges’. He has been writing movie reviews at IMDb.COM for over four years. He is also associated with F1India.ORG as a content editor. Cinema is not only his passion, but also his greatest obsession. His all-time favorite movie-makers are Akira Kurosawa, Stanley Kubrick, Luis Bunuel, Andrei Tarkovsky, Charles Chaplin, Orson Welles, Federico Fellini, Ingmar Bergman, Satyajit Ray, Fritz Lang, Sergio Leonne, Francis Ford Cuppola, and Martin Scorsese.
This entry was posted in Quotidian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The HP Print Art IndiBlogger Meet: The Auspicious Day I Rediscovered My Luck!

  1. prabhakar bhardwaj says:

    congrats brother….

Leave a Reply

